Graduate School Distinguished Dissertation Award

This award is made each year to doctoral students who have completed dissertations representing original work that makes an unusually significant contribution to the discipline.

In even years, awards are made in the broad categories of (1) Social Sciences (including Education) and (2) Mathematics, Physical Sciences, and Engineering.

In odd years, awards are made in the broad categories of (1) Biological and Life Sciences (including Health Sciences and Agriculture) and (2) Humanities and Fine Arts.

Nominations are solicited each Spring by the Associate Dean of the Graduate School. Each doctoral program can nominate one student in the appropriate award cycle. Nominations are of students who completed their degree over the past two fiscal years.

The awardee is then nominated to compete as the University of Arkansas’ nominee for the Council of Graduate Schools/Proquest Distinguished Dissertation Award.

Past Awardees


  • Social Sciences: Rebekah Brau, Supply Chain Management
  • Mathematics, Physical Sciences, and Engineering: Kelly Sanks, Geosciences


  • Biological and Life Sciences: Alda Alexa Diaz Perez, Cell & Molecular Biology
  • Humanities and Fine Arts: Luis Paganelli Marin, English