Graduate Council

The Graduate Council is a legislative body, with legislative responsibility delegated to it by the graduate faculty, which retains authority to review and approve or disapprove any legislative action of the Council. The Council, chaired by the Associate Dean of the Graduate School, shall determine its own governance and interpret its own legislation. The Council meets on the third Thursday of each month, with the proposed agenda sent to Council members at least one week before each meeting. Minutes are posted on the Graduate School website.

In cooperation with the Dean of the Graduate School, the Graduate Council shall be responsible for implementing guidelines for graduate education and for developing and implementing policies and procedures concerning all matters relevant to graduate education at the University of Arkansas. It is also responsible for reviewing courses and programs recommended by the faculty of the School of Law.

The Graduate Council shall have a total of 19 voting members composed of the following:

  • The Dean of the Graduate School, 1
  • Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences, 2
  • Fay Jones School of Architecture & Design, 1
  • Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences, 3
  • Walton College of Business, 2
  • College of Education and Health Professions, 2
  • College of Engineering, 2
  • Interdisciplinary Programs, 1
  • School of Law, 1 (votes only on course and program changes)
  • Graduate Professional Student Congress, 4 (two of which will be the President and Vice President of the Black Graduate Students Association).

The distribution of representatives on the Graduate Council may be adjusted from time to time by the graduate faculty.

Associate deans of the academic colleges, the University Libraries, as well as a representative from the Division of Student Affairs, the Chair of the Undergraduate Council, Global Campus, and the Director of Curriculum Review and Program Assessment representing the Provost’s Office will be non-voting ex-officio members of the Graduate Council. The Associate Dean of the Graduate School will vote in the case of a tie. Proxy votes are not allowed.

The procedure for selecting Graduate Council representatives for a college or unit shall be determined by the faculty of that college or unit who are members of the graduate faculty. The term for representatives shall be determined by the college or unit. A college or unit with more than one representative shall select members for staggered terms.