Graduate Council Minutes

August 18, 2016


Voting: Professors J.R. Chimka, T.P. Cronan, N.D. Dennis, P.K. Dowe, J. Gigantino, V.H. Hunt, K. Korth, J.W. Murry, K.L. Needy, D. Shirey, J.C. Rupe, R. Warren

Non-Voting: Professors P.R. Koski, M.R. Evans, J. Penner-Williams


Voting: Professors V. Anand

Non-Voting: Professors A.E. Ellstrand, LL. Lennertz; Dr. S. Adams
Note: Student representatives have not yet been selected.

SECRETARY: Ms. T. M. Fisher

GUESTS Professors P. Liu, A. Stewart

The meeting was called to order at 2:00 p.m. by Chair Patricia Koski

  1. Professor Koski announced two changes to the agenda: a) the item under new business, a proposed change to the M.A. degree in Physics, has been removed from the agenda at the request of the program; b) we do not need to identify a new member of the University Program Review Committee, because Andrew Dowdle, the current member, will continue for another year.
  2. Minutes for the June 16th, 2016, Graduate Council meeting stand approved, as no changes were suggested. (Graduate Council Minutes). Note: The Council did not meet in July.
  3. Council members introduced themselves and we welcomed the following new members:
    • Bumpers College: John Rupe (voting), Mike Evans (non-voting, ex officio)
    • Fulbright College: Jim Gigantino (voting)
    • College of Education and Health Professions: John Murry (voting) Janet Penner-Williams (non-voting, ex-officio)
    • Walton College of Business: Alan Ellstrand (non-voting, ex officio)
  4. Professor V.H. Hunt told the Council about the successful New Graduate Student Orientation held the day before and Dean Needy welcomed the members to the Council.
  5. The Council elected Justin Chimka as the representative to the Library Committee. Ron Warren remains as the representative to the Calendar Committee.
  6. There was no old business.
  7. PBHL 4401 and SCWK 4253 were removed from the course change report because they are being proposed as 4000-level dual credit classes. The Council may be willing to vote on these two courses at a later date with additional information. The remaining courses were approved unanimously (Attachment A).
  8. The graduate faculty recommendations contained in Attachment B were approved unanimously either at the meeting or by email after the meeting.

There being no other business, the Council adjourned at 2:35 p.m. The Council will meet next on Thursday, September 15th, 2016, in the Upchurch Conference Room of Bell Engineering.

Submitted by: Patricia R. Koski, Chair

Approved by: Kim Needy, Dean